Root Beer Review: Boylan


Sip a tasty Boylan Root Beer

A while back, I read a review of Boylan sodas, saying that the cane sugar gave them a more refined, “white collar” taste. I honestly have no idea what that means, but I got a chuckle out of it all the same. What I can say about Boylan’s root beer is that, like the other cane sugar varieties I’ve been sampling of late, Boylan’s is mighty tasty, and it’s a large step ahead of the corn-syrup stuff you find at your local gas station.

Boylan has been making root beer since 1891, so they’ve had plenty of time to perfect their recipe. It shows. Boylan has more head than most of the others I’ve tried, and it tastes creamier than most. It also has more vanilla flavor than any say perhaps the Tommyknocker, and the cane sugar taste is more apparent (Tommyknocker is also sweetened with maple syrup, so there is a bit more complexity to the sweetness).

If there is any knock against Boylan, it’s that the sweetness is a little too strong, and the vanilla seems to to be trying just a little too hard. Don’t get me wrong” real vanilla is one of my very favorite flavors. But I miss the balancing root beer “bite.” While the flavor is terrific, its not nearly as complex as some of the others. The sweetness makes a little less refreshing as well. That said, Boylan Root Beer is terrific, and it’s one I’ll buy again.

By the way, their grape soda, also made with cane sugar and natural ingredients, is amazing. Growing up, Fanta Grape was my favorite soda. I tried one recently, and I have to admit … the stuff they make today doesn’t match my memory. I don’t know whether Fanta has changed, or whether my tastes have. A little of both, most likely. Boylan Grape, though, that’s what grade soda should taste like.

Give it a try, and let me know what you think!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

