Review: J. D. Rothschild’s Hot Chocolate Blend


Try J. D. Rothschild’s Hot Chocolate Blend

A short blog today, folks, but something I wanted to share: my first ever hot chocolate review. The best hot chocolate I’ve ever tried came from a friend’s mother some (I think) 25 years ago, who made hers from shaved gourmet chocolate and fresh, creamy milk. Nothing else I’ve tried has come close, alas. Nothing, that is, until I tried a tin of J. D. Rothschild’s Premium Hot Chocolate blend over the snowy Christmas holiday. It’s probably not fair to compare a powder from a can to a 25-year-old memory of melting shaved chocolate, but I am happy to report that J. D. Rothschild’s holds its own just fine.

I have to start by admitting: I am a hot chocolate fan. Much to my wife’s unending amusement, I actually own a hot chocolate making appliance, which I swear by. The machine makes chocolate that is perfectly hot and wonderfully frothy. It is, however, only as good as the chocolate inside it. Rothschild’s is the best I’ve found. It’s all natural, and it’s made locally, by hand, in small batches. And it’s just terrific—exactly the way real hot chocolate is supposed to taste.

The directions call for water, but I used milk (by mistake) the first time, and a blend of water and milk the second (on purpose). I think the ideal blend may be 3 parts milk to one part water, but I have great incentive to keep experimenting. Each “test batch” yields mugs of rich, creamy, delicious chocolate, and I am happy to keep sampling them. All in the name of science, of course. To the best of my knowledge, it’s only available at the Irwin Street Market, but if you don’t happen to live in one of the groovy intown Atlanta neighborhoods, give them a call. I’m sure they can mail you a can.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 responses to “Review: J. D. Rothschild’s Hot Chocolate Blend

  1. Quite a coincidence you’d write this last night and I see it today: I haven’t made homemade hot chocolate in decades – until last night! Admittedly, it was without an appliance – only a pot (an old one at that – the one my Mom and I used to use many decades ago.) Admittedly, no Rothschild was involved. Hershey’s Cocoa, sugar, a bit of water to mix and bring to boil to make the goo, add milk and when hot, not scalded, add appropriate # of marshmallows. Mmm. Also did a mug & microwave version which surprisingly was VERY good – but pot version is better – no surprise there. My son, the official tester, concurred.

  2. Mmmm. Sounds yummy to me!

Leave a Reply

